Hide messageView More

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Health and Safety Guide

ASERT has compiled resources for those with autism and those who care for people with autism relating to the current COVID-19 outbreak.

Read More

The Arc of Pennsylvania’s 2021 Advocacy Policy Conference

REGISTRATION at www.thearcpa.org (Registration required)

Check out the website for the most up-to-date agenda.

***All Accessibility Requests must be received by May 8, 2021.

Schedule of Events

Monday, June 7th (Board of Directors Meeting & Annual Membership Meeting)

  • 5:30 – The Arc of Pennsylvania Board of Director’s Meeting
  • 6:30 – Annual Membership Meeting

Tuesday, June 8th (Virtual Conference)

  •      9:00 am – 9:30 am: Opening & Welcome
    • Ms. Sarah Holland, President, The Arc of PA
  •      9:30 am – 10:00 am: Session 1 – “The Arc US:  The Impact of Stigma on Employment for People with IDD”
    • Mr. Kenneth Oakes, President, The Arc of United States
    • Ms. Meredith Sadoulet, Board Member, The Arc of United States & VP, Comcast
  •      10:15 am – 11:00 am: Session 2 – “Preparing for the 21st Century Workforce:  Where Does PA Stand Now in the Employment of People with IDD?”
    • Mr. Steve Suroviec, ACHIEVA, Chairperson, Employment First Oversight Commission
    • Mr. Zachary Hicks, Commissioner, Employment First Oversight Commission
  • 11:15 am – 12:00 pm: Session 3 – “Building Public/Private Partnerships to Maximize Talent Resources for the 21st Century”
    • Ms. Carrie Amann, PA Workforce Development Association
    • Mr. Doran Condon, PA Workforce Development Association
  • 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm: Session 4 – “Meeting the 21st Century Needs of Pennsylvania’s Business & Industry”
    • Mr. Steve Martynuska, Diversity Consultant, Sheetz
    • Mr. Gene Barr, PA Chamber of Business & Industry
    • Ms. Shannon Austin, PA Office of Vocational Rehabilitation
    • Ms. Kristin Ahrens, PA Office of Developmental Programs
  • 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm: Session 5 – “Being a 21st Century Workforce – Self Advocate Panel Talks Employment”
    • Ms. Nicole Turman, The Arc of PA, ADEPT Program
    • Mr. Jay Bedard, Cumberland County
    • Mr. Mickey Haag, Centre County
    • Mr. Jerry Madesky, Lackawanna County
    • Ms. Laura Stalter, Chester County
    • Mr. Travis Walls, Chester County
    • Ms. Abbie Werner, Westmoreland County
  • 4:00 pm – 4:15 pm: Legislator of the Year Awards
    • Representative Kerry Benninghoff
    • Senator Art Haywood

Upcoming Dates

  • Monday, June 7, 2021
  • Tuesday, June 8, 2021